The Expressive Creatrix (and Hobbyist)











{May 2, 2011}   WIPS & Stash

My love affair with my knitting continues!  I accomplished a LOT in April!  I learned how to knit in the round on DPNS (something that initially seemed so intimidating is now one of my favorite things to do!), I started (and am almost done with my first sock – see below), and I cranked out some dishcloths.  I updated my Knit Happens – Project Journal just now.  Please check it out for photos of the projects I finished in April.

So, my current project is the socks!  I cast on, knit the leg, worked the heel flap, turned the heel (so, so exciting!), did the gussets (just as exciting as the heel) and am now working my way down the foot.  Up next is the toe decreases and grafting the toes.  I suspect the foot part is being knitted inside out – my mistake – but we’ll see when I’m done. This has been such an exciting project! I was really scared to learn socks, but also I was very intrigued.  I’m really enjoying it!  I’m using Silver’s Sock Class, and it is an incredibly great, easy-to-follow tutorial.  Thank you, Silver, whoever you are!

Here are some pictures of my work-in-progress (WIP) –

My First Sock - Knitting the LegMy First Sock - The turned heel!

 
I also recently swatched for my upcoming first shawl.  I wanted a lighter weight summer shawl that was substantial in size, cool enough for summer but warm enough to keep away the chill on a breezy day or chilly evening.  I also wanted to make sure it was sweat and water proof.  I don’t want to worry if my shawl blows into the lake!  I decided on the Harry Shawl pattern, and picked up some Crystal Palace Mini Mochi Yarn in colorway 120, Fireworks.  It’s 80% merino superwash and 20% nylon (fingering weight sock yarn), so no worries if it gets a little wet!  It’s wool, but it’s also light and airy, so it’ll be perfect for keeping warm when it’s not too terribly cold.  I seem to have lost the picture I took of it.  I’ll add it when I post about casting on the shawl!  So far I’ve just swatched.  Interestingly, I got roughly the same guage on both US 7 and US 8 needles.  Since the pattern says gauge is not critical, I’m going to go with the 8s and try to keep my knitting quite loose. 
 
 I’ve also got plans for another shawl.  My aunt gave me yarn for my recent birthday!  I LOVE that!!  She doesn’t knit, but she bravely went into a knitting store and picked out a skein.  She has great taste!  Here’s the gorgeous yarn (Lang Yarns – Tosca Light in colorway 777.0016, which is 55% wool and 45% acrylic fingering) –
 

Tosca Light from Kathy

You can see the colors a bit better here – self-striping and so pretty!

Gorgeous Colors!

Since I only have one skein, I had to choose my project carefully. I’m going with another shawl, the Multnomah.  I can’t wait!

And finally, I recently stashed some wool for my first sweater, which I hope to start on after the summer shawls are completed (and my first set of socks, and possibly the second) are done.  For the Aidez cardigan, I’ve chosen Berroco’s Peruvia Quick (100% Peruvian Highland Wool, chunky weight) in Blanco.  Yeah, it’s just plain white, but it is so, so rich looking, and I wanted an everyday cardigan I could throw on over anything in the fall and winter months. This yarn is so rich and soft, I just want to pile it all up on the floor and roll in it!

Peruvia Quick in Blanco

So, that’s where I’m at!  Plenty to do, and I’m so excited to do it.  I’d better stop blogging and start knitting!

 

 
Deb B says:

Aaaccchhh — so sorry to have missed your birthday — sounds like it was a good day.

Your knitting is VERY impressive!

Deb B.



Thank you, Deb!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
