The Expressive Creatrix (and Hobbyist)











{June 29, 2011}   Here We Go!

My Swirl has officially been launched!  I casted on all 537 stitches Tuesday night, and I’m now on row 3 of welt 1.  Casting on was a time-consuming project.  I’ve never counted so much in my life!  The pattern says to place stitch markers after each of 8 sections of 67 stitches.  I counted and counted and counted each section, more times than was probably necessary, but I really didn’t want to screw it up.  I used the long-tail cast on using two balls of yarn so that I didn’t have to try to estimate the tail length.  It worked great!  On my final count, I discovered that one section had an extra stitch.  (See? You can never count too much!)  Ruh, roh!  I just marked it with a locking stitch marker and purled it together with one of the stitches next to it when I came to it on my first row.  Voila!  Easy fix!

Knitting and purling all those stitches is also very time-consuming – 537 is a LOT of stitches!  The first row went particularly slow as my cast on was a bit tight, so working the stitches was kind of a strain.  Now that I’m on row 3, though, the going is much easier. The first three rounds are worked flat, and starting with row 4 I’ll join in the round and keep knitting and knitting and knitting. I have a feeling much of this will be mind-numbingly boring, but I’ll keep my eye on the prize!  My Swirl is going to be gorgeous!  For now, I’m looking forward to welt 2 or 3 when I already get to start decreasing!

Pictures coming soon!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
